Friday, 6 September 2013

Yaxley FC

Yaxley FC.PNGFriday 6th September 2013 kick off 19:45

FA Vase First Round

Yaxley 1 v Peterborough North Star 2
In2itive Park
Leading Drove, Off Holme Road
Yaxley. Peterborough

Admission £6
Attendance 244
Game Number : 34 New Ground Number : 28
The current club was established in 1962 and joined Division Three South of the Peterborough & District League. In 1963 they were renamed Yaxley British Legion and in 1965 were promoted to Division Two. Although they were relegated back to Division Three South in 1967, they returned to Division Two after winning Division Three South in 1968–69. They won Division Two in 1970–71 and were promoted to Division One. The following year they dropped British Legion from their name. After finishing second in the league for four consecutive seasons, they were promoted to the Premier Division in 1975, the same season in which they won the Huntingdonshire Senior Cup for the first time. They following season they retained the Senior Cup.
The club won the Premier Division in 1976–77 and again in 1983–84, a season in which won the Hunts Senior Cup for the second successive season. In 1986 they were renamed Coalite Yaxley as part of a sponsorship deal. In 1988 they became founder members of Division One of the Eastern Counties League. A change of sponsor in 1990 saw the club renamed Clarksteel Yaxley. In 1992 the club were expelled from the ECL as their Middleton Road ground did not meet the league's requirements (it was in a park, had no stands and needed temporary dugouts to be put in place on matchdays) and plans for a new ground appeared to have stalled. The club dropped into the Huntingdonshire League. In 1994 they joined the new West Anglia League and were its first champions.
In 1995 they finally moved to a new ground and were accepted into Division One of the United Counties League. They won the division at the second attempt, and were promoted to the Premier Division. The club won the Hunts Senior Cup in 1998–99, 2003–04, 2004–05 (a season in which they also won the Hunts Premier Cup) and 2007–08, as well as the league cup in 2005–06.


No comments:

Post a Comment